Swans Albums

Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic
Anti
I Dream of Drone

United States

• Posted: 05/12/2014 23:35
  • Post subject: Swans Albums
So I just saw the Swans are releasing a new album and it has received praise from the critics. I'm new to this band and I want to listen to them. Should I dive into the new album or could you guys recommend me one of their best? I know I could check their best albums page, but sometimes I don't agree with it, plus they have like 2 hour albums and I don't want to commit to something I probably wouldn't like.
SuedeSwede
Ognoo

United Kingdom

• Posted: 05/12/2014 23:37
  • Post subject:
I'm fairly new to the Swans but I'd say The Seer and White Light from the Mouth of Infinity are the easiest to swallow. Don't start with Soundtracks for the Blind, anyway.
MrFrogger
Where am I

United States

• Posted: 05/12/2014 23:40
  • Post subject:
Their 3 reunion albums are much more Post-Rock influenced than anything they've ever done before, specifically the GY!BE influenced crescendocore bears some resemblances. Opinions on them are pretty polarized. As far as pre-reunion swans goes, generally the farther you go back, the harsher and more abrasive it gets, the caveat being Soundtracks For The Blind, which kind of does it's own drone-rock sort of thing. Children of God is generally considered the best from the early era, Soundtracks For The Blind for the later era, and either The Seer or To Be Kind for reunion era.
  • Visit poster's website
Hammy

• Posted: 05/12/2014 23:41
  • Post subject:
I don't think their latest two releases have been very good personally. Admittedly though I've only heard like half of To Be Kind.

check out: tis in chronological order.

Filth by Swans

Children Of God by Swans

White Light From The Mouth Of Infinity by Swans

Soundtracks For The Blind by Swans
  • Visit poster's website
BrandonMiaow

• Posted: 05/12/2014 23:53
  • Post subject: