The Album Discussion Party

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic
RoundTheBend
I miss the comfort in being sad

United States

• Posted: 08/09/2016 02:21
  • Post subject: The Album Discussion Party
This is my first attempt at organizing something like this, so any suggestions are most welcome.

Sometimes on BEA I feel our discussions about albums are about as in depth as: It's good, but only kind of.

I don't want this to take too much of people's time and it should be fun, but I wonder if we created some kind of discussion that follows some kind of pattern of discovery that allows for the music to come more alive? Totally open to suggestions and I'll edit this original post to help with that format/have this as a discussion of the format and then create a new thread with the process.

The hope/goal is that as we make these discoveries together we understand the album much more than we would have had we not had an open discussion about it.

Sometimes verbally processing how we feel about something helps us solidify our thoughts or change our mind about something we maybe had a prejudice about.

So what are your thoughts on improving in-depth album discussions? What could be used to help break down one liner comments into a discussion?

Is it helpful to:
discuss each track?
discuss genre?
discuss production/recording techniques?
discuss political/historical/cultural impact or influences?
discuss musical theory aspects like time signature/key/chord structure, etc.?

Or is this all terribly boring? Is the project altogether interesting to anyone?
  • Visit poster's website
CA Dreamin

United States

• Posted: 08/09/2016 03:12
  • Post subject: Re: The Album Discussion Party
sethmadsen wrote:
So what are your thoughts on improving in-depth album discussions? What could be used to help break down one liner comments into a discussion?

Is it helpful to:
discuss each track?
discuss genre?