Album Discussion Party: Nilsson Sings Newman

View previous topic :: View next topic
Rhett

United States

• Posted: 08/28/2016 20:55
  • Post subject: Album Discussion Party: Nilsson Sings Newman
Please listen to the album (hopefully twice) and then start discussing. I'm not an expert on the album, but I do love it dearly, and mostly I find it interesting.

Harry Nilsson was both one of the great voices of his generation and one of the great songwriters of his generation. So why would he spend an album covering another writer's songs?

Listen not just to Nilsson's voice and interpretation, but to Newman's piano playing.

http://www.besteveralbums.com/thechart.php?a=4082
  • Visit poster's website
Rhett

United States

• Posted: 08/29/2016 02:04
  • Post subject:
Newman is one of our most satirical writers, exposing prejudice left and right. Witness his hit "Short People". Or more to the point, "Sail Away," which is a pitch to Africans to come to be slaves in America.

Nilsson isn't afraid to sing the hell out of Newman's provocative songs. He covers "Sail Away" elsewhere. On this album, he tackles "Yellow Man." Nilsson is the smoother singer, and with the beautiful layering of his vocals, his version may be even more horrifying in its casual racism than the Newman version (which is found on the album 12 Songs--you may know the song "Mama Told Me Not to Come" from that album).

Nilsson's "Yellow Man" may be the prettiest song on Nilsson Sings Newman. I imagine we're supposed to shocked and embarrassed when we move past the gorgeous sound and start to notice the lyrics.

Newman's version is not to be missed. (Ry Cooder, Jim Gordon, and other familiar musicians grace 12 Songs.) It's a bit more sharp, staccato, swampy, and swingy. But Newman doesn't seem to cover up his offense--he hits us with it. Both are winners, but I find Nilsson's more subtle and dreamy and enjoyable.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=duY29_FwZmA

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IWPfWqH-oJ8