New to jazz

Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic
deasla

• Posted: 04/11/2017 06:50
  • Post subject: New to jazz
Hi,

Like the title say I'm quite new to jazz music.
I listened to a lot of classical music before that (mostly old symphony with an orchestra) and also a lot of prog rock (pink floyd,camel, yes...) I also listened to post rock (explosion in the sky).
I like all those long song which seems to tell a story.

I tried to listen to a lot of jazz recommendation made to beginner but it's not always my cup of tea ( I listened to at least a hundred songs).
But I don't want to give up yet. I really liked the alternate version of Blue train, Caravan from buddy rich and Early summer from ryu fukui.

I'm sure there's a lot of song like that out there and I'm missing out but I always stumble upon songs I just find "ok".

When I listen to music I'm a child I need a really beautiful melody (think mozart, tchaikovsky) then that you tell me a story (with lots of variation if possible).
  • Visit poster's website
Puncture Repair

• Posted: 04/11/2017 10:08
  • Post subject: Re: New to jazz
At least a hundred songs of jazz, especially when jazz songs are often pretty long, is far from being 'new to jazz' surely? That's going to be about 20 albums worth of content.

I'm guessing jazz just isn't for you, which is cool. If you're looking for something with strict melody, and something that tells a story, then you're going to struggle to find that in jazz.

Try Dave Brubeck, try Chet Baker. Also look into 'Third Stream' where jazz musicians started to compose pieces like a classical musician would. Even Mingus's Black Saint and the Sinner Lady is fairly orchestrated for a jazz album, maybe try that for something more unanimously acclaimed. Also, if you liked Ryu Fukui then might as well give his album Scenery a full spin.
deasla

• Posted: 04/11/2017 10:47
  • Post subject:
I listened to them in a few week. A lot of them weren't very long.