testing the staying power

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic
Tap
to resume download

United States

• Posted: 10/16/2017 10:03
  • Post subject: testing the staying power
so Seth brought up in his new diary thread where he's looking thru 2017 releases (https://www.besteveralbums.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=19264&start=0) the idea of staying power, and while I say there that I think the concept is overrated, I do think it's interesting and worth exploring and I don't wanna derail his thread so I thought I'd so something here. I have my spreadsheet where I've been keeping track every time I listen to an album since the start of 2016. so I thought I'd go thru my 2014 list, as it stood on january 1st 2015, and see just how much I have kept up with these things. I'll just do the top 10 for now and add to this later, but yeah I dunno if anyone else has this sort of record keeping but if you were making lists on here in 2014 you should have access to how your old lists looked, take a look and report back your thoughts!

1. Aphex Twin - Syro (3 listens in 2017, 5 listens in 2016)
I think that's a good amount of listens. I'm not devouring it like when it came out, but I'm coming back to it pretty regularly and each time still convinced it's his best work.

2. Ben Vida - Slipping Control (1 listen in 2017, 2 listens in 2016)
That may not look like a lot of listens but both of those years had a listen on 4/20 and I think it's becoming a staple for that day. I would say that is enough staying power.

3. Gajek - Restless Shapes (0 listens in 2017, 3 listens in 2016)