LAF2's Rooftop Reflections

View previous topic :: View next topic
LAF2

United States
  • Posted: 02/01/2017 04:25
  • Post subject: LAF2's Rooftop Reflections
I've always dreamt of doing a music diary but never could find the time. Well, I think I may have at last.

I apologize if this seems disorganized and reads poorly, it's kinda personal and a bit uncomfortable and I feel like the style reflects that.

My life has changed a lot over the past year. After having spent the entirety of my life on the edge of a medium-size town surrounded by farmlands, I began attending an esteemed STEM school in the heart of Atlanta. I've lost almost all contact with my friends from high school but have made some cool new friends here. I had the opportunity to make a new life for myself.

Although I've been listening to albums regularly for about five years now, it's taken a while to get into some kinds of music, folk being one of them. First I picked up Nick Drake two years ago, and it wasn't until last semestre that I really got into Dylan, Van Morrison, Van Zandt, and Love. The fact that I haven't even gotten into Neil Young is a testament to my embarrassing relationship with folk music, haha. A few modern bands like Wilco and Fleet Foxes have also received some rotation but that's not saying much.

Anyway, the other day I was watching Good Will Hunting for the nth time and thought, "Hey, why don't I try spinning some Elliott Smith?" And I guess that's where the actual review begins.

My first impression of Either/Or was that his voice had a very nice tone and more passion than most folk I had listened to. Also, the arrangements were very nice and the album had a very nice flow to it and very few low points, if any. I really liked Between the Bars, Angeles, and Say Yes.

I found Between the Bars very relatable. These lines hit me hard:

"The potential you'll be that you'll never see"

"The promises you'll only make"

"Forget all about the pressure of days"