Playing Devil's Advocate

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic
sp4cetiger

• Posted: 01/20/2014 11:28
  • Post subject: Playing Devil's Advocate
There are a lot of intelligent people here with a genuine curiosity about music, but I feel like many subjects get brushed under the carpet because people are afraid of arguments. And I get it, aside from cluttering the forums with bickering, arguments can be very stressful, especially if you feel like your character or intelligence are being questioned.

So I have an idea… bear with me, cause I've never tried this before. The purpose of this thread is to take the personal element out of arguments. One or more people will play devil's advocate for a controversial position, while those who disagree with them will argue as they see fit. There are several very important rules for these arguments:

DEVILS AND THEIR ADVOCATES:
- You must not at any time lay claim to the position you're advocating. You can say up front that you *disagree* with it if you're especially concerned about perception, but it's better if you keep your peace. This isn't just for your sake, it's also to help keep the arguments impersonal and flame resistant.

OTHERS:
- Please no personal attacks. This rule should apply to arguments in general, but it's especially key here because you have no idea if the person you're arguing with actually agrees with the position they're taking.
- Along similar lines, please no vague characterizations of the hypothetical people that disagree with you. This includes statements like, "people who think that are just stupid" or "people who think that are just insecure about…", etc. We're here to discuss music, not psychology. In most cases, if your argument includes a reference to your hypothetical opponent, it's probably out of bounds.

To start, I'll play the devil for the following position: