The USA Police Force

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic
Kiki

• Posted: 08/01/2011 22:44
  • Post subject: The USA Police Force
I have heard a lot of stories of police brutality recently, almost all of which is coming from the USA. Now I understand that there will be some police officers in every country who abuse their powers and the USA is going to have stricter laws for the police as it has more freedom in comparison to many nations around the globe. These could be isolated stories or people cherry picking what they can find. Maybe in the 70's and 80's there was much more police brutality and there has been a vast decrease in such cases since then. I don't know. I'm not an expert on that.

What I do know is that I'm hearing much more stories now. Ones where mentally disabled men get tazered, people getting beaten at memorials, one man shot dead by a police man after he walked out of a shop carrying alcohol (police claim he was buying it for youngsters outside but he denied it), elderly get tasered and this week... an 8 year old boy shot a dozen times for whatever reason the officer had...

Back in 2008 and 2009 I never heard anything like this. Was this going on then? Is it because of the blogs I use now that I can hear about this? They are constantly warning me these horror stories will go unreported because this year something called an "Eavesdropping Law" has been passed which means that people will get in a lot of trouble if they are caught taping police activity.

I can only observe. So to the people living in the USA, what is going on with the Police over there? Have you noticed an increase in these stories regarding the police? Do you feel worried at all? Do you think it is the some anti authority groups taking isolated cases and blowing things out of proportion?
RFNAPLES
Level 8

United States

• Posted: 08/01/2011 22:49
  • Post subject: