Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic
CameronMB
Musicologist

United States

• Posted: 09/22/2014 13:24
  • Post subject: ULL: CameronMB
ULL: CameronMB

Hi everyone. I'm happy to try my hand at a listening list for the following week. Before I start the list proper, I thought I'd start by introducing myself a little bit so you have an idea where I'm coming from.

As you might have guessed, my name is in fact Cameron. I'm 31, and I've been a member here for about 3 months but I lurked for quite a while before joining. What initially attracted me to BEA was just the opportunity to find suggestions of important albums that I hadn't heard, and certainly it's been really valuable in that regard. Now I'm slowly starting to discover other cool things about the site - specifically, the community. I've been reading everyone's ULL for example. I tend to be more of a watcher than a participator.

But anyway, just a few quick facts. I'm currently studying musicology as a grad student. I play piano and percussion, but long-term my goal is probably to work in the music department at a university. Growing up, my dad was a professional jazz drummer - he played with people like Robben Ford, Jimmy Witherspoon, Mose Allison, and so forth; the most famous person he ever did a gig with was Chuck Berry. When my mom was younger, my she was a flutist. For this reason I grew up hearing a ton of jazz/blues and classical music.

I guess I'll start by listing a few of the albums that were most special to me as a kid - some of these are really well-known and well-loved, and others are pretty obscure.

So by Peter Gabriel