Hardcore

Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic
GeevyDallas
WATTBA

• Posted: 03/25/2013 03:50
  • Post subject: Hardcore
http://www.factmag.com/2013/03/23/20-be...ever-made/

Okay so I just read the above article and decided I'm going to peruse the genre known as 'hardcore',I know fuck all about it and I'm going to use the above list as a primary source for albums.What I want from you lot is some other suggestions and possibly your top 5 hardcore records,why you like them,what I should be looking for in the genre,any key facts about the genre,cool bands up and coming on the 'scene',etc,etc.Please just don't name some albums,I'm new to this shit,give me a little more,help a brother out.
  • Visit poster's website
Mercury
Turn your back on the pay-you-back last call

United States

• Posted: 03/25/2013 03:55
  • Post subject:
My starters were

Bad Brains by Bad brains (debut)
Minor threat's Complete Discography (on one disk)
Black Flag's First Four years album
Circle Jerks - Group Sex
And....
I think the Dead Kennedys' Fresh Fruit for Rotting vegetables

ONLY 4% of people can understand this chart! Come try!

My Fave Metal - you won't believe #5!!!
  • Visit poster's website
Silver

• Posted: 03/25/2013 03:56
  • Post subject:
I'm not too versed in hardcore either, but I would recommend Fucked Up and early Replacements as well.
Mercury

United States

• Posted: 03/25/2013 03:57
  • Post subject:
And that book on the front of that article you linked. The American Hardcore book by Steven Blush is great. If you get your hands on that read it. That really have me a lot of great background on it.

• Visit poster's website
purple

• Posted: 03/25/2013 03:57
  • Post subject:
Though I've neglected this chart for too long, I would direct you here

I think that list is alright, but not particularly good. My top 5 suggestions might be:

The Gun Club - Fire of Love
X - Los Angeles
Black Flag - My War
Flipper - Generic Album
Killing Joke - Killing Joke